Getting back on track

Ok so big day yesterday…

And just as big today…..

Yesterday I sat down with the doctor, after having a good olde whine on here i went and picked up the phone and made an appointment.

The doctor was lovely even though i did shout at him abit….  opps sorry Dr.

He must have thought i was mad, my opening line as i burst into tears was …. im not depressed and if i walk out of here with a prescription for anti depressant im going to freak.

In short i told him everything…. i told him about the mood swings how i self harm at the ‘wrong time’ of the month, how irrational and crazy and how emotional i get.  I also said that i knew it was hormonal because it was very specifically tied to ‘time of the month’

As i said he was new doctor so he didn’t know me so he had a look over my file, took a look at everything i’d been tested for and sent for and even noted a hormone test i had 7 years ago which resulted in no treatment being given.

In short he was lovely, he said that the hormone test i had last time showed clear imbalance and yet for whatever reason no medication had been prescribed, in fact i was given anti depressant at the time but he couldn’t say why the doctor had given me that instead of something to balance my hormones.

Basically long and short of it, is that he can’t prescribe me anything new now, certainly not off the back of a 7 year old blood test. However he wants me to go in on monday morning for the full works.  So on monday he’s taking 2 lots of bloods for hormone tests one is a regular one and one is something to do with a test for the menopause (i guess thats just in case), he’s also testing liver, kidney, diabetes and thyroid and a couple of others i forgot.

In short he was lovely and promised that he wouldn’t just prescribe me anti depressant unless he could give me a clear explanation on why they would help my ‘condition’ whatever that might be.  In return i promised i would start eating right because i know it helps.

Honestly i do feel better.

I don’t expect a miracle cure i’ll be the first to admit there is more going on in my head than wacky hormones, but if i can get them in check i’m one step closer to getting the rest under control.

Right before i move onto today … i guess i better give the score’s on the doors for this week.   I set my calorie allowance to lose 1/2lb per week, the idea is that as long as i eat somewhere between 1100 and that allowance each day im happy. I don’t have a problem with having ‘leftover’ calories as long as they are within a healthy range (nb: was sick for the first half of the week, hence low)

Date Quota Consumed Daily Difference Difference for Week
Sat 09/02/13 1690 750 -940 -940
Sun 10/02/13 1440 1269 -171 -1111
Mon 11/02/13 1440 716 -724 -1834
Tue 12/02/13 1440 1287 -153 -1987
Wed 13/02/13 1440 1351 -89 -2076
Thu 14/02/13 1440 1832 392 -1684
Fri 15/02/13 1440 1124 -316 -1999

 

Soooooo Today.

I have been shopping with my kids they have been saving for a while and i promised to take them out to spend it.  I walked around a shopping center for about 4hour (i logged 3 hours in my exercise diary) so i have earned some extra cal’s today.

However it was a productive day on more than just the exercise front, as i managed to replace my food scales (yay no more dodgy guesswork on my intake) and i also picked up an extra set of adjustable weights. So i can really get back into my training.

Sooo… what am i doing right now? Scouring the web for a diet and exercise plan that fits with my current goals. I figure if im going to do this i should do it properly. I don’t want to turn into the crazy fitness nut i used to be all supplements and madness but i do think planing is the key to success.

I have some idea’s on what i want to do but i’ll update you when i have a plan in place.

Leave a comment